Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Engender

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 6, 2007
Hello everyone,

I have a cMP 4,1>5,1, with a Xeon X5690 upgrade. I have a 256 GB Samsung 850 Pro SSD running in my PCIe slot via a Sedna PCI Express (PCIe) SATA III (6G) SSD Adapter, which I've been using for three years. I just installed a Sapphire Radeon RX 580, and I'm ready to upgrade to Mojave. But, I'm running out of space on the SSD.

I'm thinking I should upgrade the SSD to a 500 GB Samsung 860 EVO for more space. So, should I wait until I get the 500 GB SSD and do a fresh install of Mojave and then move all my docs and apps from the 256 GB SSD to the 500GB SSD?

Also, any thoughts on the Sedna - PCI Express (PCIe) Dual 2.5 Inch SATA III (6G) SSD Adapter? I'm thinking about getting one of those and then putting both the SSDs into the dual PCIe adapter. Does anyone know if I'm going to lose speed from the SSDs with the dual setup?

Thanks for any advice you have!

mikas

macrumors 6502a
Sep 14, 2017
Finland
You can update to Mojave now, buy a new SSD, put it in, and clone the system to the bigger SSD and then start using that one for boot. Old can be re-used for other tasks. I use CCC for cloning (Carbon Copy Cloner) but there are others.

An PCIe 2.0 x1 card speed limit is going to be 500MBps, which is approximately a SATA 3.0 drive speed today. Maybe I would not put two SSD in an x1 card if the other one is boot/app/cache/work drive, and the other is in active use too. For other uses it might be fine, and/or if the other drive is used only occasionally (eg. for backups or archiving purposes). Or if you happen to be short of drive slots and need one more.