Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

glawrie

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 31, 2005
Maidenhead, UK
I have a moderately updated 5,1 Mac Pro - currently with a generic USB3 PCI-e card providing four additional fast USB ports.

I now need to connect a USB-C device to the machine.

I am not sure whether it is better to use a USB-A to USB-C converter plug or to add an additional (or replacement) PCI-e card with USB-C port(s).

Grateful for any suggestions / ideas etc.

naerct

macrumors regular
Mar 19, 2019
Southern NH
I have a moderately updated 5,1 Mac Pro - currently with a generic USB3 PCI-e card providing four additional fast USB ports.

I am not sure whether it is better to use a USB-A to USB-C converter plug or to add an additional (or replacement) PCI-e card with USB-C port(s).

I have some experience with several of the USB PCI cards for the cMPs. If you need USB3 speeds (<500MB/s) The choices are mostly 2-port and 4-port cards. The best cards have an unshared USB port for each device. If you need the faster speeds of USB3.1gen2, you can also get those cards which are <1,000MB/s. Those are USB3.1 gen2 or newer, and they come in a variety of configurations with type A or Type C (USB-C), and port sharing except for the HiPoint unit which is best. When USB3 was fastest, I had a $60 4-port unit from Sonnet. Then I put a 4-port type-a USB 3.1 gen2 (<$100). unit in to replace it. That works well except each pair shares a port. A friend has the 4 socket HiPoint with no sharing. Both our units are typeA, to be more versatile.