Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JamersonFan

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2021
Mass
Old Newbie here. I have a late 2008 Macbook Pro with a 512SSD drive running OSX 10.11 (the last available version for this Mac). When I upgraded from 10.8 things went bad quickly- Mail, Safari, iTunes, iPhoto and others stopped working or connecting. I realize that my laptop is a dinosaur but it was working just fine for what I run (Adobe CS6, MS Office 2008, Mail, and general web browsing). I assume the Adobe CS6 and Office apps will not run on a new Mac.

What advice would you give on an upgrade path that allows me to continue using the Adobe CS6 and Office that I paid big bucks for?

Thanks in advance!
Jeff

Boyd01

Staff member
Feb 21, 2012
New Jersey Pine Barrens
You can continue to run all your old apps on any of the current Intel Macs (but not the new M1 Apple Silicon Macs). You just need to setup a MacOS virtual machine. This is what I do, running Catalina on a 2018 Mac Mini, I have both Mountain Lion and Sierra virtual machines and they run all my old (very expensive) 3d, CAD and database software really well - considerably faster than they ever ran natively on my old Macs. I also have a 2008 15" MacBook Pro, but gave up on it long ago so it just sits in the closet now, with a dead battery.