Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

USMCARMY46

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 20, 2024
I have a Mac Air . I now have developed serious eye issues that demand I use a larger monitor. I need advice on what is an affordable monitor I can easily connect to my Mac Air. Also, should I also purchase a larger keyboard while doing this. I am a novice and sometimes do not grasp all the technical issues. I'll try to respond if any clarifications are needed. Essentially, I use my MacAir for general home use but do have a small eBay store so need to be able to use for that and also watch Youtube movies on occasion. Should I consider a curved screen ? Easier on eyes ? Any advice appreciated. Even a used monitor would be fine if I know what to look for. Thank you.

chadamorrill

macrumors 6502
Sep 13, 2007
Orlando, FL
How big are we talking? 24", 27", 32"? If it's all the about the eyes, I'm assuming you're wanting bigger text sizes and icons, etc.

If that's the case, I'd recommend a 27" or 32" with 1920x1080 (aka 1080p) resolution. There are SO many options in this space that I'd hate to recommend one over the other. I've used Planar screens for years. Have a Viewsonic at home. Samsung, of course, makes a great screen, as well as HP, Dell, etc. And since you mentioned it, curved would only marginally help from a side-to-side head motion, but I used a 37" non-curved for years and was totally fine.

Quickly searching, there's a VA3209M from Viewsonic that is 32" and 1080p resolution. It gets pretty great reviews on Amazon and is pretty inexpensive. You'll need an HDMI to USB-C cable -OR- a USB-C adapter with HDMI port. My vote goes to the adapter, because it will also allow you to plug in standard USB things into your Air (and the monitor comes with a standard HDMI cable already). Anker is a great brand for those adapters.

Hope that helps.