Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheMountainLife

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 24, 2015
So I've had my AirPods Pro 2 for about 12 days now and had a couple of flights recently. The audio cut outs are awful at Denver airport when in the gate area (especially Terminal B), I'm talking at least 20 seconds of silence or static intermittently during 60 seconds of audio. Its worse if when I'm around a large amount of people and gets better around the food courts/train area. I experienced the same at other airports in Chicago and NYC. Smaller airports its been fine.

I'll occasionally have this happen at home, seems to happen when I wake up my iPad, Mac Mini or ATV and see's that the AirPods are nearby.

Anyone else dealing with this? Are mine defective? I didn't have this with my Galaxy Buds+ and definitely didn't with my Bose QuietComfort 3 that I've been flying with for 7+ years. I thought the W1 and H2 technologies were supposed to be better than bluetooth?

I'm using a 13Pro Max 1TB.

xenoako

macrumors 6502
Apr 30, 2021
I have not had my APP2 long enough to measure such things, but at the moment I do not remember what you are describing at various domestic and international airports in addition to flying 717s to 320s to 359s.

sorgo †

Cancelled
Feb 16, 2016
So I've had my AirPods Pro 2 for about 12 days now and had a couple of flights recently. The audio cut outs are awful at Denver airport when in the gate area (especially Terminal B), I'm talking at least 20 seconds of silence or static intermittently during 60 seconds of audio. Its worse if when I'm around a large amount of people and gets better around the food courts/train area. I experienced the same at other airports in Chicago and NYC. Smaller airports its been fine.

I'll occasionally have this happen at home, seems to happen when I wake up my iPad, Mac Mini or ATV and see's that the AirPods are nearby.