Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SandboxGeneral

Moderator emeritus
Original poster
Sep 8, 2010
Detroit
I'm getting more educated on Hi-FI audio lately, but I'm still learning. I'm an Apple Music subscriber and I understand that it uses the lossy AAC version of music. However, I have a few albums that are not available on any streaming service and have purchased the CD's. After I ripped them into iTunes originally a few months ago I hadn't paid attention to what format they were done in. This was before I started looking at HI-FI audio.

Tonight I checked and saw that I ripped them into AAC. No problem as I deleted an album and ripped it again in ALAC on my 2012 cMBP. My primary listening device is a Mac mini with no external ODD available. After ripping the album on the MBP I uploaded it to Apple Music and then downloaded it to iTunes on the Mac mini only to find it in AAC. After searching around it seems that iTunes/Apple Music compresses the ALAC to AAC before uploading to iCloud. Alright fine.

Now I go looking for the files in ALAC on the MBP so I can manually copy them over the network to the Mac mini. Those files, as I learned, are in the m4a container - still lossless ALAC. Next I use my network to copy the files over to the Mac mini. After adding them to the iTunes library and I look at the file info and now I have the ALAC files. Good.

Kind of a small PIA but it worked. But I have to wonder, would I be better off using a different music player to play my lossless stuff?