Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JedNZ

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 6, 2015
Deep South
Ok, don't fret - I'm planning on living a long life (at this rate, at least by the time macOS 11.x.x is released (lol). But I've come to thinking about what plans I need to have in place if something happened to me, how my family will carry on without losing my Photos, Videos and everything else in iCloud and on the devices and computers we have.

So I have a 2TB iCloud subscription. I have all my Photos library (plus videos) backup up. My primary machine is a cMP 4,1 > 5,1 - it's been updated and modernised with SSDs, NVME, modern GPU etc. My Photo Library is on this and it contains all of the pics and vids (I have enough storage not to have to optimise the space). I have an iPhone and an iPad and both are set up to share and sync with my iCloud. My wife and kids also share my iCloud storage with Family Sharing, so I only pay one amount each month.

So what happens if I die? Will my wife be able to take over my iCloud account? Does she just update the credit card details, and make some other subtle changes in order to keep it going? Or does she have to close my account, and then use her iCloud account to sync my Photo Library on the cMP (she has her own user account on the cMP)?

Luckily everything (files, documents, downloads etc) is on the cMP, with 5 sets of backups (NAS, external and internal backups and TM). At least two of the backups are backed up to the last week - TM is constant.

My big concern is thinking about what happens to all this data, those precious memories, when I'm gone. What instructions do I need to give my wife and/or kids? What does they need to do to ensure OUR photos and videos, and my documents and emails, all survive?