Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

meekana

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 15, 2017
Hi,

I have been using GoDaddy's web design tool for several years now. They changed the web builder I have been using since my last renewal and I learned that I would have to rebuild my website using their new web builder if I continue my GoDaddy web builder subscription.

Question 1: The GoDaddy web builder costs $5.99/month. Are there any web design tools for a Mac user that are free for life? My website is very basic, and it shouldn't require a complex writer (I don't know how to write code but I would be willing to learn if required). I am not adverse to paying a fee for a web page design app provided it is reasonable, but of course would prefer a zero price tag. I am not interested in hiring someone else to build/maintain my website.

Question 2: What alternatives to GoDaddy would you recommend as far as hosting and domain? I am assuming that I would be able to transfer the domain I pay for via GoDaddy to a new host/domain provider. Do you find other hosts/domain providers charge relatively the same price for these things? GoDaddy makes you use their web design tool. Are there any domains/hosts that allow you to use whatever web builder you want, or do they make you use their brand web builder?

If you have any recommendations as far as free or low price web builder sites/applications, let me know how often they update their product and if you have to rebuild your site from scratch when they do update. I was shocked I couldn't import any of the content built in my current GoDaddy builder to their new version.

I have been researching this on the web, but I have found what I come across to be either too sophisticated for my level of web build understanding or else promotional. If you have a link that answers my questions on a basic level I'd appreciate such, too.