Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mbell1975

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 17, 2012
I am pretty familiar with iOS having owned all 3 iPads but I am new to the iPhone. A few things I am wondering if I can do or if an app will do it. First would be calling a contact I am messaging. On my Android phones when I was looking at texts with someone, I could just press a phone symbol and it would call them. On the iPhone, do I have to back out of a conversation, go into my contacts and then call them? Second would be a smart dialer. One where my contacts would show as I started to type their name on the keypad. Anything like this for iPhone? Next would be a way to add a contact that has texted you. I can't seem to find a way to add them as a contact while looking at their text. Thanks

pooleman

Suspended
Jan 11, 2012
Eastern CT
When messaging someone on the top of the page is "Contact Info" button. Click on that and all the info for the person you are texting is there with the phone numbers right there. Touch the number and the iPhone places the call.

Also, if you get a text from someone who is not in your contacts list there will be a little blue arrow next to the message. TOuch that and you will have the option to either "Create a new Contact" or "Add to contact". Add to contact lets you add and unfamiliar number to an already existing contact.

mbell1975

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Mar 17, 2012
When messaging someone on the top of the page is "Contact Info" button. Click on that and all the info for the person you are texting is there with the phone numbers right there. Touch the number and the iPhone places the call.