Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

RedTheReader

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 18, 2019
Hi. I'm new to Android from iOS; I've only tried it a handful of times, all over the course of the last couple of months, and I recognize that I don't give it the chance it deserves and go to hard on it for being different in areas I'm used to iOS for. I understand that this comes across as a rant, but I feel there's enough legitimate criticism here to separate it from just being a new users inability to adapt to an unfamiliar system. I've got to emphasize that when I say "love" in the title, I really do mean it, because a universal back button's such a useful tool for an operation that takes multiple steps if you want to re-do it otherwise. I easily understand why Android users for years have complained about it's absence upon moving to (or having to use) iOS.

The problem is less about what the feature can do and more about what it prevents… the web browser's forward button. The one place where those back and forward buttons are not just a nice-to-have that departs from other operating systems, but are actually crucial parts of how I use the tool. See, if you pull up a Mac, Windows, iPad (yes I tried this just to emphasize my point), or Linux machine with a trackpad, you'll go back in a browser by swiping from the left to the right, and you'll go forward by swiping from the right to left. On touch devices, iOS, iPad, and Windows devices all let you go forward and back in a similar fashion. Note how literally every platform does this in a universal, standardized way.