Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mistermacattack

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 11, 2018
Sorry, I'm sure this has been posted and talked about extensively. I am on the verge of buying another macbook. At this point, I'm a grad student and my computer uses have little to anything to do with either multimedia (aside from youtube vids or reddit). I don't edit photos except maybe to resize them. I use (used) Pages, Word, Evernote and browse the web. I have many friends and peers who are still using '12 macbook pros with ease. And some have a little newer ones as well as those with Airs. I have been using a Surface Pro 4 for a year and half now. I was switching from '12 macbook pro I thought it was on the fritz and it just needed another charger (asking the person I sold it to). I would have kept using it had I known and it ran just fine. Surface was a good idea, pen for notes (which I found I don't like that but enjoy pen and paper more), full OS and portable. But I really don't enjoy the experience of it and am again thinking of product value and taste. I don't like the kickstand concept and I have an iphone so the ecosystem is nice. I also really got used to OS X and enjoy it.