Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

StumpyBloke

macrumors 603
Original poster
Apr 21, 2012
England
Yet again there is another influx of spam posts by presumably bots. Why is it seemingly so easy to do this on Macrumors? I'm no website expert so this is a genuine question.

Puonti

macrumors 68000
Mar 14, 2011
It might not even be a bot, sadly. There are countless people in the world who will do this stuff manually for very little pay, and who are just savvy enough to be taught the rudimentary tools it takes to be a menace.

It's not sophisticated, it's not inspired, it's nothing to be proud of, but it puts food on the table. It's a sad state of affairs for people who have few opportunities in life.

Reactions: StumpyBloke

adrianlondon

macrumors 603
Nov 28, 2013
Switzerland
Yet again there is another influx of spam posts by presumably bots. Why is it seemingly so easy to do this on Macrumors? I'm no website expert so this is a genuine question.
This forum allows newbies to create accounts and post immediately with no admin approvals needed. The moderators all tend to be in the same/similar timezone so there are periods where spam can remain for a few hours.

However, they do all get deleted relatively quickly, and so far the spams look so obvious that one hopes, on a tech site like this one, no one is fooled.

Considering the popularity of this site and the number of posts and posters, I think it's moderated well enough.

laptech

macrumors 68040
Apr 26, 2013
Earth
Considering MR asks it's members to become a 'supporter' for $50 a month, having a spam attack and not having any mod's online to deal with it is not good business practice.

StumpyBloke

macrumors 603
Original poster
Apr 21, 2012
England