Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Adazonk

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 21, 2017
Wales, UK
Hi all,

I currently have a 2016 MacBook which I’m feeling a little cramped on and was contemplating an upgrade to a pro however I’ve been having a little trouble deciding which size and config to go with.

I’m a test analyst for a UK wedbsite
I’m looking to get into development and was looking for a machine to replace my MacBook in everyday use and to to start practising coding (C#) and development mainly and maybe play the off 4X game (CK2, EU4 etc).

Regarding my budget, ideally the cheaper the better but I’m fortunate in that this isn’t a major consideration for me.

My current thinking is;

512GB over 256 as I’ll have a boot camp Partition with Visual Studio installed.

And that’s about it....
Questions that I have are;
Will 8GB be sufficient for the next few years for general use and development or should I look at 16GB. my work machine has 64GB of RAM for working with Visual Studio, admittedly I’m dealing with very large solutions which I won’t be at home but I don’t want to hamper myself a year or so down the line.

15 inch seems better for screen estate but I prefer the form factor of the 13 inch. My concern is this wouldn’t really mitigate my current problem of feeling cramped on a 12 inch. I’d also like to use this machine to remote into work from home.

This leaves me looking at the top spec 15 inch which I know is total overkill for my use case. Could anyone cleverer than I or with similar usage weigh in and help me make a decision?

Thanks

Last edited:

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Tbh, the 2016 model that you have is more the powerful to do what you want it for.

Adazonk

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 21, 2017
Wales, UK
Tbh, the 2016 model that you have is more the powerful to do what you want it for.