Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

PassMeAGuinness

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 20, 2009
Miami, FL
Greetings all !

I am completely brand new to iOS5 and the iPhone, (just picked it up last week) and I have a question about the camera.

Is there any way to LOWER the camera's resolution, so it its not always at max res ?

I say this because I don't need EVERY single picture I take to be HD or even high quality, at that. Sometimes (most of the time) VGA sized pics will do for me.

So again, does anyone know of a way to do this ? I have tried using the camera and checking settings, but can't find anything.

Perhaps there is an app on the App store that will do this ? If you guys know of any, please let me know.

Thank you all ! :cool:

r2shyyou

macrumors 68000
Oct 3, 2010
Paris, France
There's no way to do this using the native Camera app.

While I'm not familiar with many 3rd party camera apps, I am familiar with Hipstamatic and I know that app allows you to adjust quality between low res, medium, and full res. But that app is for taking vintage-esque photos and not regular photos, so it's not for everyone.

Anyone with Camera+ know if you can adjust resolution with that app?

Small White Car

macrumors G4
Aug 29, 2006
Washington DC
Anyone with Camera+ know if you can adjust resolution with that app?

Yep, Camera+ has a 1200x1200 setting in their menu.

Note that this does NOT mean you'll get a square photo. It just means that the shot will be fit within those dimensions. So the actual resolution will be even less than that.

PassMeAGuinness

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 20, 2009
Miami, FL
Yep, Camera+ has a 1200x1200 setting in their menu.

Note that this does NOT mean you'll get a square photo. It just means that the shot will be fit within those dimensions. So the actual resolution will be even less than that.