Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacBkPro17

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 7, 2009
Hi guys I have been reading the forums for a while but just registered today! I am a college student and been doing computer repair on the side for extra cash and have run into a problem with aol and a netgear FS26T pro safe 24 port switch I installed for a client of mine. The network consists of 8 computers and two printers. They all run os x 10.3 or 10.4 except one which runs 9.2. The existing network consisted of three switches, 50 feet of cat5 between the switches, and very poor network performance. I decided to simplify the mess and just have one switch. Everything works great except for aol which is horribly unreliable. My client swears to me that AOL used to be flawless. The head sales rep uses strictly AOL and refuses to use anything else. Any known issues with aol and this switch??? is there something I missed?? I forwarded forwarded ports 5190-5193 on the AOL computers. Also Im using a class c ip with the range starting on 192.168.1.10 . I took this job because the owner of the company is an amazing bass player and by speeding up his network he would want to give me some pointers. Now he just hates me because 70% of the business is done through aol email. Any help would be appreciated thanks

::EDIT:: Im running the stand alone AOL 10.3.7 and AOL desktop 1.5. Both crash often

brop52

macrumors 68000
Feb 26, 2007
Michigan
AOL always crashes. I'm confused though. Is the internet through AOL or just the email, because you can get free AOL with internet from a third party.

MacBkPro17

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 7, 2009