Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacToddB

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Aug 21, 2007
Rochester, NY
As a developer and journalist, I get a ton of email. Every day people want me to review their app, or gadget, or some app advertising firm wants me to use their services to "monetize" my apps. And of course I have to support my six million customers, at last count. Usually, I ignore the unsolicited spam, but a "personalized" email came across my computer the other day and I had to pursue it.

The subject was "I bet $1.00 I can beat you in WAR OF GEARS"

Wow, I was offered money, albeit a nominal amount, and the name of my app was in the subject... this had to be a personalized email, right? So I read further...

Hi No Tie, LLC Team,

____ is the leading cash tournament SDK for mobile games. We are having great success on Android and are now selecting partners for our pending iOS launch. I have been playing WAR OF GEARS and think cash tournaments would be a fun addition that improves the game’s retention and monetization.

Notice the personalization including my full corporate name after "Hi" and my app's title embedded between "I have been playing" and "and think cash tournaments..." It reminds me of the George Burns line, "The secret to success is sincerity. If you can fake that, you've got it made."