Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DaveMike11

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 26, 2014
Hello Everyone,

I'm looking for an external Keyboard for my M1 Max. I'm going back & forth between Apple Magic Keyboard vs Logitech MX Keys Mini. I'm a Photographer & Video editor. I'm new to Mac. Any recommendations between the two keyboards?

Thanks in advance,

ctjack

macrumors 65816
Mar 8, 2020
Hi,
Basically reviewers say that Mx keys series are more comfortable than the Apple's keyboard.
Also it is $100 versus $150+ for Apple.
So if you don't lose on quality, then why pay more?

fwmireault

Contributor
Jul 4, 2019
Montréal, Canada
The two are great keyboards. I personally use the Magic Keyboard as I like the consistency of keyboard feel between my MacBook and my other devices, but MX is great too. The biggest bummer to Magic Keyboard is the absence of backlighting, so if it's important for you, the MX is a no brainer

Last edited:

DaveMike11

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 26, 2014
The two are great keyboards. I personally use the Magic Keyboard as I like the consistency of keyboard feel between my MacBook and my other keyboards, but MX is great too. The biggest bummer to Magic Keyboard is the absence of backlighting, so if it's important for you, the MX is a no brainer
Thank you. You are correct. The exact points why I'm going back & forth. I wanted the backlighting + multi-device and i also wanted the same keyboard feel as my macbook. Also is the TouchId on the new magic keyboard a very useful feature to have ?

ipsedixit

macrumors regular
Jun 14, 2021
Count me in the minority, I actually prefer the feel of the Magic Keyboard over just about every other aftermarket option, including the Logitech offerings.

JeepGC

macrumors regular
Mar 11, 2011
New Orleans, LA