Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jefhatfield

Retired
Original poster
Jul 9, 2000
i make my living as a pc tech/network engineer and any of us who have been in the field for any number of months or years quickly realize it is not what they taught us in college/trade school and if it was a hobby for many of us once, it seems for the vast majority not to be a hobby for us now...imagine working on a pc all day, the last thing you want to do is work on your pc at home so most of us take up different hobbies besides computers and many of us don't want to see anything computer related (fixing hardware or programming) on the weekends at all until monday morning

i recently read that being a computer techie is the second highest burnout job in america next to being an air traffic controller...i have met very few techies who do this fast moving field for more than a decade or even five years

if there are any techs out there on macrumors who make their living fixing macs,

1) what do you do for a hobby? is it macs?

2)is a mac the last thing you want to troubleshoot on your precious free time? does your love life suffer because of the computer?

...just a curious pc tech

Ensign Paris

macrumors 68000
Nov 4, 2001
Europe
X Over

I work as Mac tech at my dads company (Repro Graphics) We have two networks about 50 summut G4 and G3s and about 24 Dell Windows 2000 machines aswell as a few Unix servers.

In my spare time I race go-karts and mess about with my PBG4, oh yes and sometimes I do my GCSE homework.

Thanks,
Ensign Paris

Last edited:

eyelikeart

Moderator emeritus
Jan 2, 2001
Metairie, LA
any help would be appreciated...