Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

NewToAMBP

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 3, 2023
I was inside a Best Buy today and they had in the open box section this Apple TV for sale. It comes with everything, box, tv box, the silver remote, charger cord and remote charger cord. It does have some scratches on the box and remote but everything works. I realize now its the older version, I did not realize that when I was in the store. I am pretty new with Apple TV, is this still an OK model to have? Is it worth the price I paid? Also, it says when I was in the settings updating it that it can still get AppleCare+, should I get that for it if I am told I should keep it?

Thanks everyone for the help.

Apple TV HD 32GB MHY93LL/A - That is what it shows on the box.

HobeSoundDarryl

macrumors G5
Only you can judge if it is worth it for that. Can you get a perception of $40 of value out of it? If so, then it is worth it.

If me, I save up another $69 or $89 and get "latest & greatest" version in the refurb store... or maybe for a little less by shopping around from another retailer. Why? That old HD one- while still pretty functional today- is right on the line of probably being "vintaged" or treated that way... and then key apps will stop getting updates... and then some will just stop working.

That one is 4 generations behind. It would be like considering a cheap, last generation of Mac now. Yes, those Macs are still quite capable, can run Sonoma, etc (even coming with some bonus features like bootcamp and much more competitive RAM & SSD prices) but we all know that Apple will deprecate them at the soonest possible opportunity.