Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Has anyone succeeded activating data plan on the watch from another region?

• Yes

Votes: 7 77.8%
  • No

Votes: 2 22.2%

• Total voters

iultra

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 9, 2022
Hey everyone,

I live in Denmark and during my recent trip to US I've purchased the latest Apple Watch Ultra (A2622). I'm new to cellular Apple Watches, therefore had no idea that multiple watch variants exist until I tried to activate data plan on the watch after getting back.

When I go into "Mobile Data", the "Set Up Mobile Service" button is greyed out and the message below says: "This Apple Watch does not support TELIA mobile service in this region":
1667988868998.png

I have reached out to Apple Support about this, and spoke to multiple people, including their senior technical support agent. He assured me that despite originating from US, my watch does not have any enforced region/carrier lock. He confirmed that the watch is fully unlocked and can work with any carrier that accepts it in their network. He insisted that there is nothing Apple can do/unlock from their end and it's completely up to the carrier to accept the device.

We discussed LTE bands and he also confirmed that as long as some bands overlap, the watch will be getting reception, though it might not work in some areas where only missing bands are used.

Comparing LTE bands, I can see that Telia uses Bands B3, B7 and B20:
1667988910233.png

Bands B3 and B7 are supported by model A2622 and only B20 is missing, so 2/3 overlap:
1667988981755.png

He stated that there is a default activation policy on the carrier side that prevents models from other regions activating. He suggested to escalate this case to tier 2 / senior technical support at the carrier for manual activation assistance.