Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

rfitz9

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 10, 2016
Colorado
Hello All,

I'm new to Applescript and Automator. After reading this post, I've become obsessed with scripting and automating. I'm basically trying to teach myself - and having a lot of fun doing so. I'm trying to figure out how to script a task and I'm getting stuck. Here's what I'm trying to do:

1. Check finder to see if an external disk is mounted.
2. If disk is mounted, launch Plex.
3. If disk is not found, do nothing.

I'm using a Macbook Pro, so I don't always have the external drive connected. I would love to have a script running that checks finder every X seconds. If it locates the drive, then it launches Plex. Or else it does nothing. Is this task possible with Automator or do I need to write a script?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Red Menace

macrumors 6502a
May 29, 2011
Colorado, USA
Automator doesn't have any conditional operations, so you would need to use a script. Instead of constantly polling with the Finder, you can set up a folder action on the /Volumes folder - this is a normally invisible folder that contains aliases to mounted volumes. The folder action would be launched by the system whenever an item is added to the folder (when the drive is mounted), so the script would just check if the items passed to the folder action contain one you are looking for, starting your application if it is there.

rfitz9

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 10, 2016
Colorado