Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Alwis

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 12, 2017
Hi,

I can not figure out the following problem, but I am quite new to Applescript, so this might be a stupid question.

I want to delete empty folders and so far managed to identify them with the following script, which is mostly "copy&paste" from the internet:

Code:
set allfolders to {}
set allalbums to {}

tell application "Photos"

set allalbums to the albums --  collect all albums
    set allfoldernames to {}
    set allalbumnames to {}
    set allfolders to {}

set level to 0 -- nesting level of folders

set nextlevelFolders to the folders of folder "TestScript"
    set currentLevelFolders to {}

repeat while (nextlevelFolders is not {})
        set currentLevelFolders to nextlevelFolders
        set nextlevelFolders to {}
        repeat with fi in currentLevelFolders
            tell fi
                set ffolders to its folders
                set falbums to its albums
                set fcontainers to its containers
                set nextlevelFolders to ffolders & nextlevelFolders
                set allalbums to falbums & allalbums
            end tell

if (fcontainers is {}) then
                set folderName to the name of fi
                log {"Folder is empty", folderName}
                delete folder id fi
            end if
        end repeat
        set allfolders to currentLevelFolders & allfolders

set level to level + 1
    end repeat

What is not working is the delete part...

I tried

Code:
delete folder fi

Which results in a "can not converted to integer error: