Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

macstatic

macrumors 68010
Original poster
Oct 21, 2005
Norway
I find myself sharing my Mac Ethernet connection to computers using Wifi, but it involves quite a lot of mouse action and clicks to get done, and likewise to turn it off.
Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 11.14.07.png

I was hoping to get a simpler solution going, ideally an on/off toggle button (or two buttons) or something in the menu-bar, but an Applescript in the dock would probably be just as useful. Alas, recording my actions in the "Script editor" doesn't work as I had expected. I seem to remember having recorded actions in the past and making them into a script, but that may have been in my pre-OSX days... And a quick web-search reveals that the very few apps support Applescript recording, so that's that I guess.
I'm not a programmer, so what would be the easiest way to make this easier?
I'm on MacOS 10.13.6 (High Sierra).

Last edited:

headlessmike

macrumors 65816
May 16, 2017
Would it be enough to simply turn off WiFi on the Mac that is sharing? That would obviously stop the internet sharing and it should start up again automatically when turning WiFi back on.

Alternatively, here's an Automator script (with AppleScript code) that might work for you. It works on my Mac running Monterey (12.3.1). I even tried adding it to the Scripts menu in the toolbar and it runs fine from there. The first time you use it you might need to give the script permission to change the settings.

Attachments

• Internet Sharing.zip
    41.5 KB · Views: 171
Last edited:

macstatic

macrumors 68010
Original poster
Oct 21, 2005
Norway
Unfortunately not. If I don't turn off sharing I won't allow the Mac to sleep.

Here's what I do in order to turn ON Wifi sharing:

1) Open System Preferences - Sharing
2) Enable "Internet sharing"
Screen Shot 2022-05-12 at 11.30.49.png