Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

LincolnsiPod

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 20, 2009
I'm awaiting the new iPad release, in the meantime my iPad line is eligible for the standard 2 year discount. However when testing this out by going through the motion of purchasing a new iPad the price was the same even with the discount "applied." :rolleyes:

I've never used 2-year discounts for a tablet before, so I was wondering if this means they're only applicable for phones, at least as far as Verizon goes?

quagmire

macrumors 604
Apr 19, 2004
iPad's are not subsidized by the carriers. This is why you can cancel your service at any time without an ETF.

fleabite

macrumors member
Jul 27, 2010
Actually, it may be subsidized

If you sign up for a new plan, it can be subsidized. I'm soon going to switch to Verizon and get an iPhone 5s and the new iPad mini. If you check that on Verizon's website, it gives a discounted cost on the 32 GB mini of $459, which is $100 dollars off, when I get the 2-year contract. It also gives a discounted rate on the phone. I discussed this with a customer rep, who confirmed it.:cool:

Last edited:

LincolnsiPod

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 20, 2009
If you sign up for a new plan, it can be subsidized. I'm soon going to switch to Verizon and get an iPhone 5s and the new iPad mini. If you check that on Verizon's website, it gives a discounted cost on the 32 GB mini of $459, which is $100 dollars off, when I get the 2-year contract. It also gives a discounted rate on the phone. I discussed this with a customer rep, who confirmed it.:cool: