Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

myrtlebee

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Jul 9, 2011
Maryland
I got my new M1 MBA up and running tonight, and looks like I'll probably be keeping it. I am wondering, though, if the dimensions are exactly the same as he early 2020 Intel MBA for the purposes of a hardshell case and / or a sleeve or even a skin (please no comments on how a hardshell case is bad or tacky). I am wondering because I know the dimensions changed slightly from the 2019 MBA to the early 2020 Intel MBA and it made a difference with case fitting. Since Apple eliminated the fan in the M1 model, did the dimensions change ever so slightly, perhaps making it a bit thinner?

glindon

macrumors 6502a
Jun 9, 2014
Phoenix
Thank you for your response. Do you have a source?

MacBook Air vs M1 MacBook Air Comparison: What’s the Difference

Dimensions

• MacBook Air: 0.16–0.63 inch x 11.97 inches x 8.36 inches, 1.29 kg
  • M1 MacBook Air: 0.16–0.63 inch x 11.97 inches x 8.36 inches, 1.29 kg

myrtlebee

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Jul 9, 2011
Maryland

MacBook Air vs M1 MacBook Air Comparison: What’s the Difference

Dimensions

• MacBook Air: 0.16–0.63 inch x 11.97 inches x 8.36 inches, 1.29 kg
  • M1 MacBook Air: 0.16–0.63 inch x 11.97 inches x 8.36 inches, 1.29 kg
Thank you again.

Reactions: glindon

myrtlebee

macrumors 68030
Original poster
Jul 9, 2011
Maryland
For future reference about any Mac:

I was reading conflicting information and couldn't find exact numerical measurements. This article from The Verge says the new M1 Air is "almost the same dimensions as its predecessor" https://www.theverge.com/2020/11/10...r-arm-m1-chip-laptop-specs-price-release-date

Last edited:

lambertjohn

macrumors 68000
Jun 17, 2012