Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Naiera

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 14, 2017
Denmark
My CanoScan 5600F wasn't doing so hot after updating to Catalina, and trying to make it work better just broke everything. It seems that Canon has dropped support for MacOS entirely. Trying to go through Windows 10 via Parallels did nothing either.

So, does anyone have a scanner that is fully supported in Catalina? I'm only looking for flatbed type scanners like the 5600F, and preferably no bigger, as desk space is already at a premium. Not interested at all in a printer combo :)

Naiera

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 14, 2017
Denmark
Pretty sure. I'm no expert, as I've just been doing the same thing with the same scanner for many years, but it doesn't look too good.

Attachments

• prettysure.jpg
    prettysure.jpg
    261 KB · Views: 328

Plutonius

macrumors G3
Feb 22, 2003
New Hampshire, USA
My CanoScan 5600F wasn't doing so hot after updating to Catalina, and trying to make it work better just broke everything. It seems that Canon has dropped support for MacOS entirely. Trying to go through Windows 10 via Parallels did nothing either.

So, does anyone have a scanner that is fully supported in Catalina? I'm only looking for flatbed type scanners like the 5600F, and preferably no bigger, as desk space is already at a premium. Not interested at all in a printer combo :)

I'm not running Catalina but here is the Canon official list of Canon scanners approved for use under Catalina (i.e. it looks like Canon has not dropped support for MacOS entirely).

Your CanoScan 5600F wasn't on the list so I'm not surprised.

I own the Canon LIDE 220 (it is on the list) and I highly recommend it (I'm running Mojave).

chabig

macrumors G4
Sep 6, 2002
Pretty sure. I'm no expert, as I've just been doing the same thing with the same scanner for many years, but it doesn't look too good.