Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacOH21

macrumors regular
Original poster
Feb 15, 2018
Apologies if this is answered in another thread.

I'm trying to determine if Apple TV 4K (and its most common streaming apps) support the optimal Dolby picture and sound quality. I'm new to some of this and am now realizing that even if you have all the right hardware, the streaming app itself may not support Dolby Vision, HDR or Dolby Atmos.

In specific on Apple TV 4K:
  • Disney+: Dolby Vision ? HDR ? Dolby Atmos ?
  • Netflix: Dolby Vision ? HDR ? Dolby Atmos ?
  • Amazon Prime Video: Dolby Vision ? HDR ? Dolby Atmos ?
  • Hulu: Dolby Vision ? Dolby HDR ? Dolby Atmos ?
Thanks for any help you may have.

waw74

macrumors 601
May 27, 2008
on all of the services, don't expect 100% of their library to be in DV/HDR/ATMOS.
I think Disney might be the closest on this.

everything but Hulu will give you DV/HDR and Atmos.
Hulu doesn't currently support either, they do have limited 4k content though

Prime is mostly (all?) HDR instead of DV, and I'm not sure anything there is in atmos.
Netflix & disney are mostly DV, with quite a few of those in atmos

Showtime has a few shows in 4k, and a few in 4K DV.
On some of them, it's just the recent seasons, with earlier seasons still in 1080.

HBOmax is still 1080

prime kinda sucks,
---you must find the UHD version of a title to get 4K and HDR, you can play the "regular" version if you aren't careful when you start something new. (regular and UHD are 2 separate shows in their library)
--- Prime has a decent sized selection of UHD(4K) that aren't HDR/DV.
--- I've had different qualities depending on if I'm using the app on my TV compared to the aTV

Reactions: DarkSel

HDFan

Contributor
Jun 30, 2007
I'm trying to determine if Apple TV 4K (and its most common streaming apps) support the optimal Dolby picture and sound quality.