Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Commander Tagga

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 5, 2008
Greetings All, newbie here.

I spent much of the weekend coming up to speed on hacking my new Apple TV (really new, Take 2, software update run). Following the tutorials at iClarified, I created an ssh patchstick for my unit, got ssh enabled, and successfully installed Couch Surfer, Sapphire, and ATV Files. I impressed myself.

Following the same methods (actually, trying two different methods), I attempted to install ATV Loader. I both tried directly placing the AwkwardTV.frappliances folder into the proper directory. Upon reboot, there was no AwkwardTV in the frontrow menu. So, I deleted, and tried using terminal to run the installer. I got an "installation successful" message, but again, upon reboot, no AwkwardTV in the menu. Does anyone have any advice on that?

Also, when I use Couch Surfer to navigate to Hulu, I get a message that Flash 9 is needed. I'm not so advanced as I know how to do that. Can anyone point me in the right direction for a tutorial? I installed the perian codecs for DivX, but I don't know what to do about Flash.

Finally, it appears that the only way to play DivX files is to use Fugu to directly transfer them to the Apple TV... no way to stream. Am I right, or am I missing something?

Any help would be MOST appreciated.

Commander Tagga

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 5, 2008
Okay, got an answer to the Flash problem on another board, got that working fine, but still no idea how to proceed with ATV Loader and nitoTV.

Any assistance would be appreciated.

Apple TV Take 2, 2.0.2

TuckBodi

macrumors 6502
Jan 10, 2007