Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gw0gvq

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 30, 2012
Barry, South Wales, UK
I want to automate an electric to come on through the night now and again fan in my bedroom. I'm a newbie at this so I wonder if someone can tell me the best course of action? is it with a shortcut, if so how, please? or do I use a Homepod to ask Siri? If so what do I need? I have a Homepod and an iPhone 8 plus.

Itinj24

Contributor
Nov 8, 2017
New York
If the fan is not HomeKit enabled out of the box, you will need a smart plug. I have a few of the Wemo Minis and they work great in my experience.

You can go into automations in the Home app and make a series of time based automations throughout the night to turn the fan on and shut it off after a set number of minutes. So say you go to bed at 10pm. You can have it go on at 10 pm for 10 minutes, then again at midnight for 10 minutes and so on. It’s pretty self explanatory and user friendly once you go to create an automation. Just follow to directions using the options you want.

If you want to get fancy, you can get a HomeKit temperature sensor and with the Eve app, set automations to turn the fan on and off using a set temperature as a trigger. Temperature based triggers are not available in the Home app but the Eve app is free and pretty robust.

gw0gvq

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 30, 2012
Barry, South Wales, UK
If the fan is not HomeKit enabled out of the box, you will need a smart plug. I have a few of the Wemo Minis and they work great in my experience.