Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jclin10

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 1, 2009
Hi all

I’m looking to update my backup strategy in preparation for getting a new desktop (probably a Mac Studio).

What do folks typically recommend for a thorough strategy? I’m not a professional photographer or anything, but I do have a lot of very meaningful photo files from our family. Or is there a website that describes a good strategy?

Thanks!

jz0309

Contributor
Sep 25, 2018
SoCal
Hi all

I’m looking to update my backup strategy in preparation for getting a new desktop (probably a Mac Studio).

What do folks typically recommend for a thorough strategy? I’m not a professional photographer or anything, but I do have a lot of very meaningful photo files from our family. Or is there a website that describes a good strategy?

Thanks!
maybe start reading here: https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...ion-dies.2380600/?post=32038456#post-32038456
3 backups is the common recommendation, me, having ~ 80k photo library and not a professional, do a daily backup on an external SSD and then weekly or more frequent onto 3 different external HDDs, incl a portable one that I keep at work. I use CCC vs TM as the one time I need to recover TM didn't do it for me.

Phil A.

Moderator emeritus
Apr 2, 2006
Shropshire, UK
It's not an easy question to answer because ultimately it depends on the value you place on your photos and how much you are willing to invest to protect them

Pretty much every photo I have taken in the last 23 years is digital and it would be absolutely devastating for me to lose them, so I take an approach that many would consider over the top:

My photo library (Lightroom) and DNG images are included in my hourly backup to a Synology NAS using ActiveBackup for Business which (finally!) supports MacOS.