Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jackster1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 6, 2015
Hi. I received an iPhone 5s for Christmas and am thrilled. However, I know that I won't use/need a lot of the apps that come installed on the phone. I'm new to the iPhone and I'm a basic cell phone user: make calls, send/receive texts, take pictures, internet, read books, and I would like it to sync with my iPad/MacBook Pro. That's about it. I don't play games or listen to music on a cell phone. I want to clean up/disable anything that is unnecessary for me that might use up battery time or run in the background, but I don't want to do something that will interfere with the phone's functionality. Can anyone direct me to a good site that will show me how to get my new iPhone down to the basics I need? Thanks much.

jahall05

macrumors 6502
Jul 30, 2013
Hi. I received an iPhone 5s for Christmas and am thrilled. However, I know that I won't use/need a lot of the apps that come installed on the phone. I'm new to the iPhone and I'm a basic cell phone user: make calls, send/receive texts, take pictures, internet, read books, and I would like it to sync with my iPad/MacBook Pro. That's about it. I don't play games or listen to music on a cell phone. I want to clean up/disable anything that is unnecessary for me that might use up battery time or run in the background, but I don't want to do something that will interfere with the phone's functionality. Can anyone direct me to a good site that will show me how to get my new iPhone down to the basics I need? Thanks much.

You cannot remove any stock applications or 'disable' them.

However you can do the following to conserve battery:

1. Don't keep brightness on high...only put it as high as you need at that time.
2. Settings > General > Background App Refresh > OFF