Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

peter108

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 20, 2021
Howdy. I’m still pretty new to Mac OS, so may be missing something obvious. I want to be able to open my Mac Calendar app and see entries from my Google Calendar. If I go to Settings>Internet Accounts>Google and check the Calendars box, I immediately see my Google Calendar entries in my Mac calendar app. So far so good. But what I also see is an email alert about an upcoming event. And if I keep the box checked, the alerts keep coming, at odd intervals, but mostly 30-90 minutes. Yesterday I got 12 alerts before unchecking the box, at which point the alerts stop. If I re-check the box, an alert is generated immediately, so I’m sure that’s what’s doing it. These alerts come a) even with Mac calendar notifications off and b) even with Google Calendar event notifications off. Both the alert sender and recipient are <me>@gmail.com. If the alert was coming from Google Calendar, OTOH, that would show as the originator. Those notifications look completely different than these spurious alerts.

So - what’s going on and how do fix it? Thanks!

Contruba

macrumors newbie
Mar 1, 2022
Hi Peter,

Thanks for asking, as no one else on the internet seems to have asked and I thought I was going crazy! :)

Putting this here for others. The only way I was able to remove the multiple, weird 'Alert' emails was to remove 'Mail' from the 'Internet Accounts'. That is System Preferences -> Internet Accounts -> Select account and uncheck 'Mail'. For myself, I don't use the Apple Mail app, so this works for me. It also implies the Mail app is to blame, so that might help others figure it out if they must use the Apple Mail application.