Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HandyMac

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 27, 2014
If I jailbreak my iPad, would it then be possible to copy an app (.ipa file) off it to my Mac?

I have an oft-used app on my iPad Air (iOS 12.4.8) which is no longer in the App Store – which means if I need to reset the iPad for any reason, there's no way to get the app back (since iTunes no longer includes apps in backups). I want to download the app (.ipa file) to my Mac so I have a backup to reinstall if I need it.

I got the iMazing utility, whose web page says "Keep old apps in case they disappear from the App Store. Hang on to a specific version." Only it turns out it doesn't do this, directly contradicting what the web page says. Though iMazing might work to reinstall the app if I can get a copy of it.

So I'm wondering if I can get to the app and copy it by jailbreaking the iPad. I have no experience in jailbreaking, and understand it might damage the OS, maybe even brick the iPad, which I certainly don't want to do.

I see a pinned "Universal Guide to Jailbreaking" thread above, but note it discusses jailbreaking iOS 8 & 9, while my iPad is on iOS 12. Can anybody tell me where to find instructions for a novice re iOS 12? I'm not interested in installing any other software, just in getting this one .ipa application file.

eyoungren

macrumors Penryn
Aug 31, 2011
A few things.

Back when jailbreaking was a 99+ step process involving arcane electronic devices connected to the phone, it was possible to brick your device. Those days are long gone - although Apple still floats that idea out there to scare people away from doing something they don't want you to do.

Yes, it is still possible to brick your device - but you have to be working damn hard with the full intent to brick it to do that. Might as well smash your device, you'll 'brick' it faster.