Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DudeMartin

macrumors regular
Original poster
Dec 2, 2010
Chicago, Illinois
Hey everyone!

Recently I bought my very first Mac, which is a ton more appealing than a PC, but that's besides the point of this thread.

This Mac is also my first laptop computer, so I am new to using a battery with a computer. I have read the Laptop Battery Guide on this website, but I still had a few questions.

First of all, I heard/read somewhere before that plugging the computer into a wall and out causes the battery to wear down faster - is this true? According to the guide, the battery wears down by the amount of 'cycles' it goes through, so a whole cycle (at maximum capacity) is like 5000 milli amp hours (whatever the unit is). So which one is true - the amount of times I plug the computer into the wall to charge OR that doesn't matter and just how much power the computer consumes (while on battery power) is what matters?

Also, is it bad to constantly plug the battery charge in and out? I mean it isn't on purpose, but seeing as the charger part that goes to the computer is a magnet, it tends to detach pretty often, just a nice tug on it will disconnect it. I mean that is exactly what it is supposed to do, but is it bad for the charger OR the battery/computer? (this also sort of goes with the above question)

I'd really appreciate if I could get some input from people with experience on this matter.

Thanks a lot in advance!

Last edited:

gchhour

macrumors member
Jul 6, 2010