Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Spaceboi Scaphandre

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jun 8, 2022
So yesterday I started playing around with AI Image Generation (and in turn also became an enemy to all artists everywhere.) šŸ„“

So I have two AI generators using Stable Diffusion: NMKD on my gaming PC, and DiffusionBee on my 14 inch Macbook Pro. My gaming PC has a 9th gen i7 and an RTX 3060, and my Macbook Pro is a base spec M1 Pro.

So DiffusionBee has a much nicer gui but NMKD has more options and can use more models and weights, while DiffusionBee is only using the common Stable Diffusion weights that are coming with each major update, so can't use teaching tools or added elements like Waifu Diffusion.

That being said...my god, doing AI generation on my Macbook Pro is so much better than on my PC. On the Mac DiffusionBee rendered images a lot faster than on my x86 machine, so I could just queue more and more images in batches. It felt so good to actually use my pro Mac chip on something actually professional for a change. I hope DiffusionBee's developer can get the program updated to be on par with NMKD so I can start using more weights and better image refinement.

In fact, doing AI image creation caused my Macbook Pro to do something it rarely ever does: Activate the fans past idle state. And even then, the fans weren't that loud, only audible if you're up close to the laptop, and it got cooled quickly. Meanwhile on my PC, it was so loud as the RTX 3060's fans had to kick into overdrive as if it was running Cyberpunk 2077.

After all that, man I wish Apple wasn't out of touch with the game industry, because if the Mac had the same games my PC has I'd be able to ditch Windows for good and just go fulltime for Mac for everything. With how good that Macbook Pro was I'd happily trade my PC for a Mac Studio and have that be a new gaming rig if it had access to my library.

Last edited: