Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sierra36

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 3, 2005
Hi!

I'm very new to Mac. I'm trying to find a mac suppported web host that also has templates to create my small website. A Small Organge does not seem to offer the ready-made templates. Could someone educate me on how I go about doing this?

Thanks.:p

TodVader

macrumors 6502a
Sep 27, 2005
Quebec, Canada
you could use regular hosting and find a template at another place.

Try searching for ''Free templates'' on google and you will find some very nice websites that offer templates absolutly free.

Vader

macrumors 65816
Oct 11, 2004
Saint Charles, MO
A good program to take a look at would be Dreamweaver.
That is really expensive, but it is so easy for anyone to dosimple stuff, and it can do complicated stuff when you learn more.

Doozy

macrumors regular
Oct 25, 2005
A lot of website hosting providers offer some kind of templates for free. If the hosting provider offers "Fantastico" you can automatic install "Templates Express". Although the templates leave much to be desired and you will need to use a text editor or dreamweaver to place your copy.

By the way A Small Orange does offer "Fantastico"

I also offer "Fantastico" and a program called "SITE STUDIO" which is kind of a website wizard which you can use through a browser. To be honest though these templates are not very pretty, but they do give you a website that can be up and running very fast.

Fantastico is a great utility which automatically installs open source software in your web space. You can install picture galleries, blogs, shopping carts, and much more.

PBGPowerbook

macrumors regular
Jan 6, 2004
i was a total beginner and just got my first website up...I used NVu (nvu.com) a free open source WYSIWYG editor...plus cyberduck (versiontrack it) and a cheap host and domain registrar. I'd recommend this route to anyone.

theappleguy