Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sebpayne

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 28, 2005
I'm new to programming (apart from CSS and HTML) and using the tutorials on the internet, I am thinking of developing my skills by:

1. Learn AppleScript
2. Learn Cocoa

I tried a Cocoa tutorial on Apple Developer Connection but it failed (don't know why) but the AppleScript one worked and I guess it would be good to have knowledge of both languages. If you were totally new to programming, where is a good place to start?

REALbasic looked good but I can't afford £280 for a license for it so I'm going to stick to free tools.

Thanks

Seb

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
It depends on your goals. If you want to become a good programmer in general learn the theory! If you want to become a Mac programmer learn C the Objective-C/Cocoa. AppleScript is pretty much unique in terms of syntax so will not really help you much in terms of moving to other languages/platforms so I'd view it as optional.

Josh

macrumors 68000
Mar 4, 2004
State College, PA
I'd say start with C or C++.

Learning an easier language like C will help you learn C++, Java, etc a lot more quickly.

The syntax is different in different languages, but the general concept is there. Once you learn one, picking others up is a lot easier.

Jordan72

macrumors member
Nov 23, 2005