Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cromulent

macrumors 604
Original poster
Oct 2, 2006
The Land of Hope and Glory
I want to start making some small iOS games, and obviously, I need a mac to do the actual programming. I've been programming on Linux and windows for a couple of years, but I want to get back into Apple.

What hardware would you recommend? I need a Mac and an iPhone.

glenthompson

macrumors demi-god
Apr 27, 2011
Virginia
You can do it on any current Mac. You don’t mention price constraints or portability needs. For programming screen real estate is usually of paramount importance. That leans towards the 27” iMac or iMac Pro. If money is not an issue you can’t go wrong with the new Mac Pro but prepare to empty your wallet. If you want to use existing monitors, a Mac Mini could work.

For a portable option consider the 16” MBP. The current 13” is a non-starter due to the butterfly keyboard.

Finally, if price is important check the refurbished store for suitable models.

Cromulent

macrumors 604
Original poster
Oct 2, 2006
The Land of Hope and Glory
Sorry forgot to mention price. I like the look of the 16 inch Mac Book Pro and could use with my existing monitors which would be great.

What I would really like is to have some sort of switch that allows me to plug my mouse into the MBP and my desktop PC along with my keyboard and monitors so I can switch between Apple and Windows with the flick of a switch. If I could do that the MBP would be perfect I think.

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
Sorry forgot to mention price. I like the look of the 16 inch Mac Book Pro and could use with my existing monitors which would be great.