Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ChazUK

macrumors 603
Original poster
Feb 3, 2008
Essex (UK)
What are your thoughts on the best non-Apple made phone with regards to looks, feel and build materials?

Mine is the Samsung Omnia 7 Windows Phone:
samsungomnia7.jpg

The first Windows phone I'd owned and I bought it online without even holding one. To my surprise it was weighty, felt premium in the hand with its metal chassis. Coupled up with one of Samsung's SAMOLED displays and (to me at least) it was a fantastic phone to use.

Easily one of the best phone I've ever had the pleasure to use.

Yours?

Last edited:

polotska

macrumors 6502
Sep 23, 2007
I have no experience with that Samsung, but I quite liked the Nokia Lumia 900 that I played with.

Last edited:

cyks

macrumors 68020
Jul 24, 2002
Westchester County, NY
Best build quality I've ever seen in a phone was an old, Motorola Nextel, yellow construction cell phone. Predating smartphones (and even flip phones), it's features were minimal, but damn if that thing didn't take a beating.

At an old job where they were the company phones, I saw them dropped off of 50' buildings, ran over by trucks, dropped in water, and countless other major mishaps that would destroy a lesser phone... but they never stopped working and rarely even showed a mark for the worse.

igiboi

macrumors member
Jun 17, 2012
If we're posting images... :D

but this is a close 2nd: 3 day battery life under heavy use, 1 week (I think) standby time.

Oh man, i Used to love those SE fones, back when Nokia was the bomb , i used to rock walkman SE fones with the in-ear earphones. I really like the UI and never froze on me. Camera's were great on SE phones especially the K-series

----------