Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Yendog

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 26, 2010
Sonoma, CA
So I know generally everyone knows that the apple "Music" app in the desktop OS is a nightmare.

Looking for suggestions on which external HD to but for use as my iTunes (music) library.

I am a full time professional musician.... so I'm using my music library CONSTANTLY in different ways. I don't do the streaming thing it does not work... but my non SSD drive is SO slow to wake up and function with the nightmare that is Apple Music app.... I will NOT really be moving the HD so size and portability (often what they tout with the SSD drives) is not important to me... I just need at least 2.5 TB.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

Yendog

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 26, 2010
Sonoma, CA
lots of view but no one has a recommendation? All good I'm sure I can figure it out but always like polling the hive mind sort of thing. :)

USB3foriMac

macrumors 6502
Apr 15, 2020
Singapore
All Spinning drives will be same slow to wake up. So if that's not what you want, you have two options:
- disable the options to put HDD to sleep. This way it will be spinning constantly. If you go for this options, you can get a 3TB or 4TB portable 2.5" HDD.
- get a SSD. That will wake up faster.

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
SSDs come in either 2tb or 4tb sizes.
So if you get an SSD, it will have to be 4tb.

That's getting kind of "pricey".
But the speed won't let you down.

phrehdd

macrumors 601
Oct 25, 2008
If you are staying with iTunes, then no reason not to have more than one SSD as they can all be added to the same library. If you use a mechanical drive, wake it up before starting your music work (opening up iTunes) etc.

Yendog

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jul 26, 2010
Sonoma, CA