Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

purdnost

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Dec 2, 2018
I’ve been using Creative Labs wireless earbuds for a couple of years now, but the sound quality gradually deteriorates with use until I clean the filters. I’ve been considering a pair of over-the-ear wired headphones because I listen to music while I work and don’t need wireless capability. Also, I’m interested in getting better sound quality, and something I don't need to clean periodically for optimum sound quality.

Considering these options, but also open to recommendations:

Sony MDR7506 Professional Large Diaphragm Headphone​

Monolith M565C Over Ear Planar Magnetic Headphones​

bwayne

macrumors regular
Mar 3, 2021
Hi, I’m always on the search for the next headphones too but it’s never really ended in 45 years ha ha. What kind are you looking for? For example you stated listening to Lossless is your intention, but do you intend to connect directly to your computer, or iPhone, or will you use an external DAC and amplifier? what kind of budget? Is your listening environment sensitive to sound escaping from the headphones where it bothers other people?

Reactions: Jpoon

profcutter

macrumors 65816
Mar 28, 2019
AKG240Ms were studio mastering standards for decades. Not a bad place to start.

Jpoon

macrumors 6502a
Feb 26, 2008
Between those two I’d go for the Sonys, I’ve used them at work and they are comfortable enough. Pretty much any ear buds / in ear buds are going to need cleaning periodically… darn ear wax. A lot of pricier pairs of in ear monitors (IEMs) will come with cleaning solutions.

I‘ve been considering getting some Sennheiser HD 650 to replace some aging HD 595 I got on Amazon over a decade ago. If you’re in that general price bracket, these aren’t bad either: https://en-us.sennheiser.com/studio-headphones-noise-reducing-hd-200-pro pretty comfy.

riggles

macrumors 6502
Dec 2, 2013