Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

FMRWin10Boy

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 21, 2021
Forgive me if this has already been covered (I’m somewhat new to the Mac ecosystem), but what’s method to transfer my current MacBook Pro 13 data/settings/format to my new MacBook 14 silicon?

I’ve read several articles and it appears there‘s a couple of methods—Wi-Fi transfer, direct cable transfer, or Time Machine.

I use Time Machine every day. Is there any advantage to using Time Machine over Wi-Fi transfer?

Curious what the consensus is here. Thank you for your feedback.

MrP90

macrumors regular
Sep 21, 2017
Florida
Forgive me if this has already been covered (I’m somewhat new to the Mac ecosystem), but what’s method to transfer my current MacBook Pro 13 data/settings/format to my new MacBook 14 silicon?

I’ve read several articles and it appears there‘s a couple of methods—Wi-Fi transfer, direct cable transfer, or Time Machine.

I use Time Machine every day. Is there any advantage to using Time Machine over Wi-Fi transfer?

Curious what the consensus is here. Thank you for your feedback.
Migrating from a Time Machine backup will be your fastest way with the items you have. Wi-fi is the slowest and Target Disk mode on the old one to migrate from might not the best if you do not have the correct cables

FMRWin10Boy

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 21, 2021
Migrating from a Time Machine backup will be your fastest way with the items you have. Wi-fi is the slowest and Target Disk mode on the old one to migrate from might not the best if you do not have the correct cables
Great, thank you for the feedback.

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
One of the easiest ways to do it is to "migrate" the first time you boot the new Mac, using a backup drive.

BUT... sounds like you already have the new one up-and-running, with a new account created?

lsh

macrumors 6502a
Feb 6, 2012