Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

whyrichard

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 15, 2002
Hello fellow Audiophiles!!

I need advice, as I want to maximize my audiophile setup.

My current setup: B&W 804's Nautilus speakers, B&W sub, Musical Fidelity A5 Amp, Musical Paradise D1 DAC, Airport express with optical out to DAC. Sources are Tidal and Itunes Lossless via my Mac.

The weakest link from what I understand turns out to be the Airport express. I have driven the DAC directly from a mac and it was much improved (twice the frequency?). However I only had a large imac available for this role, and so it is not desirable.

I was wondering what you all thought I should do to provide the highest quality source for my DAC.

1: Roon or Blue Sound or? I have no experience with these type of dedicated "Streamers". And I am skeptical that their internal DAC would sound as good at my external DAC, which has been fully upgraded from Musical Paradise, similar to this:

2: Mac Mini: Headless, controlled using Sidecar (or older cheaper mac mini with a Sidecar like app?) from my Ipad, hooked up via USB to my DAC.

3: Super long USB Cable from my desktop (30'?)

I really welcome your suggestions fellow Audiophiles!!!!

Thank you so much,
r.

whyrichard

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Aug 15, 2002
I tried setting up my iPad to play to the DAC directly Burt I got a Not enough power error message....

cbautis2

macrumors 6502a
Aug 17, 2013
You would need a software optimized for streaming.

There are two paths: cheap but moderately complicated to setup or expensive but easy, fancy and less headache to setup