Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cancelled
Original poster
Jun 16, 2020
Not an uncommon question I'm sure!

I'm looking for an ultrawide monitor for my gaming PC. I currently use a 27" ASUS something - can't remember the model, but it's 165Hz refresh rate, 2560 x 1440. This PC is mainly a work machine (I'm a writer), but I do play World of Warcraft. I have an Nvidia 1070 GPU.

I was contemplating a 4K display, as I rather like the 4K display on my Lenovo laptop, but I know this would also require a new GPU if I want to play WoW at any kind of decent frame rate, and I'm not sure I could go back to a 60Hz screen after using 165Hz for so long (probably 3-4 years now). I know there are 4K screens with high refresh rates, but they cost a fortune.

It seems that 90% of ultrawides are curved, right? I think I've seen a few flat panels, but not many. I've never used a curved screen before so I have no idea if this would be weird for my day job? I would like the extra width so I can have multiple documents side-by-side as I write, but I don't know if I should really have a flat wide display for that.

Anyway, does anybody have any recommendations? What ultrawide do you use, and how do you like it?

LiE_

macrumors 68000
Mar 23, 2013
UK
For an UW a curve is very nice, it means the edges of the monitor don't feel too far away and it creates an immersive experience when gaming.

Do you have a budget in mind?

I think you are right to stay away from 4K, it is demanding, and unless you go for a bigger monitor the extra pixel density at normal viewing distance doesn't make a huge difference to gaming enjoyment.

Cancelled
Original poster
Jun 16, 2020
For an UW a curve is very nice, it means the edges of the monitor don't feel too far away and it creates an immersive experience when gaming.

Do you have a budget in mind?