Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ayrehead

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 14, 2019
I want to learn how to use Terminal and its access to iMac features. I want to buy a book that goes into some depth on Terminal but most were written several years ago, say 2012. Would a book that old still be valid and match the way Terminal works nowadays? (I'm not a developer, I'm an advanced user.)

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
Which book on Terminal from 2012 were you looking at?
Please be specific. Post a URL, or the title, author, and date.

Other than getting tabbed windows some years ago, I don't think Terminal.app has changed much recently.

The important parts of Terminal windows have nothing to do with the Terminal app itself. The important part is the shell, or command-line interpreter. That's the program that takes what you type in a Terminal window and runs commands.

The default shell is 'bash', and you could easily use any book on bash with any version of Terminal.app, and learn all about bash and the other commands.

Ayrehead

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 14, 2019
My question was not about any particular book, I was just asking if Terminal and the related software had evolved significantly since 2012. Including bash and Apple-specific commands such as "defaults" etc.

Possible books:
Macintosh Terminal Pocket Guide: Take Command of Your Mac
by Daniel J. Barrett (Author)
July 5, 2012

Learning Unix for OS X: Going Deep With the Terminal and Shell
by Dave Taylor (Author)
October 8, 2012

Last edited:

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
Terminal.app hasn't changed all that much since 2012. At least not in any way that would be a major impediment for using a book from 2012. See details below.