Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Fendrix69

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 14, 2019
I was noticing a slight unevenness in tint and brightness on my new Iphone XS. It was distracting and I decided to do a little research and see if If it was just mine.

Eventually I found an old thread on this forum and decided to test my display with the 5% black image and I’m freaking out with the results.

what do you guys think? I have already returned another iphone that had a huge gap around the frame where I could insert a two sheets of paper.

this ridiculous degree of unevenness only show with this image though not with 100% black,the clock app, Spotify or any other grey background.

I have been purchasing apple products for more than 23 years and IMO the quality control is so random these days that I hate the idea of playing the panel lottery but if everyone’s iPhone XS is better than mine I guess my chances of getting a better build are really high.

please let me know what you think, thanks

Attachments

• 0B22DDD5-24CA-45F6-A7C9-2B219F66FDFE.jpeg
    0B22DDD5-24CA-45F6-A7C9-2B219F66FDFE.jpeg
    72.9 KB · Views: 519
  • 5DF6D279-C082-4534-8A43-66652BF289ED.jpeg
    5DF6D279-C082-4534-8A43-66652BF289ED.jpeg
    268 KB · Views: 420
  • D55AC21F-C66E-4EE1-BA7F-B3BE7A7FFC94.jpeg
    D55AC21F-C66E-4EE1-BA7F-B3BE7A7FFC94.jpeg
    137.5 KB · Views: 305
  • 9DB0DDFB-E1FA-4A8F-92F8-0E8B99340FD6.jpeg
    9DB0DDFB-E1FA-4A8F-92F8-0E8B99340FD6.jpeg
    92.7 KB · Views: 374

fitgirl

macrumors 6502a
Oct 25, 2013
I was noticing a slight unevenness in tint and brightness on my new Iphone XS. It was distracting and I decided to do a little research and see if If it was just mine.

Eventually I found an old thread on this forum and decided to test my display with the 5% black image and I’m freaking out with the results.