Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Espnetboy3

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 1, 2003
Ok im not that good at web design, but said I would build a site for my mother. My question is once im done building it in bbedit and have the html file folder, what do I need to get it up on the net? Someone mentioned Fetch to me. We just purchased the Domain name on Godaddy.com. Is there anything else we need other than a domain name? A server or host? Any help would be much apreciated. Thanks

Lacero

macrumors 604
Jan 20, 2005
You'll need a web hosting provider for your domain name.

Try ipowerweb.com.

rock6079

macrumors 6502
Jan 6, 2004
you're going to need some web hosting.. i recommend infinityws.com thats who i use.. good prices and great customer service.... definately very important..

good luck

Espnetboy3

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 1, 2003
I love the feedback. So you guys recomend 4 diff hosts. Any of you guys here of Aplus? Also, does godaddy host or no? So fetch isnt that great ill go with one of the free ones you guys mentioned. There are some stuff on this websites that is trademarked sayings. I put the tm but at the bottom of the webpage should i put copywritten or something?

sapereaude

macrumors newbie
Jul 19, 2002
Everybody develops their own preference on hosts, no surprise there, there are hundreds if not thousands of capable hosts out there right now. Between my day job and my freelance work I currently have sites on 9 or 10 different shared hosts, just depends on what technologies your site needs to run efficiently.

Godaddy does do hosting. Since it sounds like you did straight up HTML, their "economy" hosting will probably handle what you need at a reasonable price ($4/mo). It may be nice for you to keep the registrar and host as the same. If you want something even cheaper they're out there.