Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Korfi1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 22, 2023
Hello! I am a college student trying to stay in the price range of 1300 dollars or below for a desktop, and I was Wondering, should I buy an M3 iMac, a m3 Mac mini when it comes out, or a m2 pro Mac mini? I have never bought an apple desktop before and I was just wondering. I am not a coder or will do anything necessitating hardcore usage.

MacAndMic

macrumors 6502
Jun 4, 2009
Being that you are in college, why not a laptop? Or do you need more screen space to work with than a laptop offers?

Korfi1

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 22, 2023
I’m already going to get a laptop as a graduation present in 1 year.

Juicy Box

macrumors 604
Sep 23, 2014
I used to be a fan of the iMac, and still have a lot of them. My favorite Apple design ever is the iMac G4.

But, I probably will not be getting another one. The exception, maybe if Apple releases a "Pro" one with a larger display (at least 27", but 32" would be better).

My main beef with the iMac is that they no longer have Target Display Mode. You get a beautiful display, but no way to use it once the HW is no longer meeting your needs.

Also, if you want to have a matching display with your iMac, you cannot.

With the iMacs, a big selling point is the display, but the current M3 iMac has too small of a display for me. It is underpowered for me as well.

Last year, I got a M2 Pro Mac Mini, with 19c GPU to replace my aging Late 2012 iMac. It retrospect, if had I known the M2 Max Studio was coming out a few months later, I would have waited.

If you don't need the extra power of the Mac Studio, then I would get the Mac Mini. Just be careful with the Mac mini upgrades, at a certain point, it no longer be much cheaper than the Mac Studio, you might as well just get the Studio.

I am not a coder or will do anything necessitating hardcore usage.