Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ApplePearBanana

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 1, 2017
I need a new Mac and I'm thinking of going with a desktop. I've had a MacBook Pro for years, and hardly ever took it out of the house. After getting an iPad it basically stayed at home, always hooked to a monitor an an external HDD. I'm a university student but I found that I work best at home.

With an iMac I'd get more power, a bigger screen, and, most importantly, more ports. I have lots of USB peripherals, and using ethernet would be a nice option, too. I can only afford the MBP without the touch bar and that one only has two ports (ridiculous to call that 'pro' IMO).

I am looking at these configurations:

• iMac 21.5" 4K 3.4 GHz Quad-Core i5 - 1TB Fusion Drive
  • iMac 21.5" 4K 3.0 GHz Quad-Core i5, custom with 256GB SSD
  • MacBook Pro 13.3" 2.3 GHz Dual-Core i5 - 256GB SSD, without touch bar

These would all be about the same price. The reason for the iMac with the custom SSD is that I'm afraid the traditional HDD in the fusion drive is more prone to failure than a full SSD drive. This would mean that I would get less storage (wouldn't bother me much, I have external drives), a slower CPU (3.0GHz vs 3.4 GHz) and a 'Radeon Pro 555 with 2 GB VRAM' instead of a 'Radeon Pro 560 with 4 GB VRAM' (I have no idea what this means.), but a computer that will maybe last longer.

I'm still hesitant about a desktop because I've never owned one, but my MBP was basically used as a desktop anyway. Having a portable computer would be nice should I actually need the portability one day but when I compare what I'm getting for my money with an iMac vs a MBP, the latter looks like a bad deal. Especially with those measly two ports, of which I can only use one most of the time since one is needed for the power cable.