Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

spookybean

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 27, 2022
hi i am a university student thinking of getting a new MacBook air m1 512gb but i need help picking between 8gb or 16gb ram.

i use my laptop for normal school stuff but also to play some games like hollow knight.
i make websites in wix, design graphics in canvas, and use discord a lot.
most of my work is in safari, discord and books
safari is my primary browser and i often have many tab groups open at the same time.

i also use apps like streamio, WhatsApp, messenger, spotify, mail, photos, notes regularly.
i rarely edit videos and photos in adobe.

i am not sure whether 8gb ram with the new chip will be enough for me or not.
i want to seriously future proof this device since it is quite expensive for me.
let me know your suggestions!

i am currently using the MacBook air 2019 and it works fine but gets quite sluggish when i have more than a few apps open. streamio almost always freezes if i have it open with safari and discord.

tia!

Basic75

macrumors 68000
May 17, 2011
Europe
A clear vote for 16GB. Changing the instruction set of the processor doesn't magically diminish use of RAM. With 8GB you have just enough for the most basic of use cases today.

Gudi

Suspended
May 3, 2013
Berlin, Berlin
8 GB is more than enough for Hollow Knight and all the other use cases you described combined. Don't listen to the people who tell you otherwise! Unless you work on multiple streams of 4K video at the same time, memory is in no way a limiting factor.

Realityck

macrumors G4
Nov 9, 2015
Silicon Valley, CA
8 GB is more than enough for Hollow Knight and all the other use cases you described combined. Don't listen to the people who tell you otherwise! Unless you work on multiple streams of 4K video at the same time, memory is in no way a limiting factor.